New ISTE NETS Standards for Teachers, K-12

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) recently released their new technology standards for teachers. Teachers can use these standards as a framework to guide their use of technology in the classroom. The new standards focus on what teachers should know and be able to do "to promote student abilities to learn effectively and live productively in an increasingly digital world."

The NETS for Teachers includes five categories, each with its own set of performance indicators:
1. Facilitate and inspire student learning and creativity
2. Design and develop digital-age learning experiences and assessments
3. Model digital-age work and learning
4. Promote and model digital citizenship and responsibility
5. Engage in professional growth and leadership

The NETS Standards for Students, Second Edition, were released in 2007 and include six categories, each with its own set of performance indicators:
1. Creativity and innovation
2. Communication and collaboration
3. Research and information fluency
4. Critical thinking, problem solving, and decision making
5. Digital Citizenship
6. Technology operations and concepts

The NETS Standards for Students were used as one of the foundational documents for writers of Iowa Core Curriculum in support of 21st Century Learning Skills. To view these documents in their entirety, go to Click on the link to download a free .pdf version to your computer.