Iowa Core Curriculum

The Iowa Core Curriculum (also known as Model Core Curriculum) provides local school districts a guide to delivering instructional content that is challenging and meaningful to students. The curriculum identifies the essential concepts and skill sets for literacy, mathematics, science, and social studies, as well as 21st century learning skills (civic literacy, financial literacy, technology literacy, health literacy, and employability). To read more, go to

Go to and enter any of the following in the Search box for video presentations that explain the curriculum and sample units:

  • Iowa core curriculum
  • Science core curriculum
  • Math core curriculum
  • Literacy core curriculum